Ignorance is Bliss.


I’ve just had a conversation on MSN with a fellow Muslim named Shami (he added me), who is also a chemist, and we got drawn into the discussion of evolution:

Cooley: what about evolution?
Shami: it does not give anything as evedence
Cooley: i could give you evidence now
Shami: have u seen any lately?
Cooley: lol that is lame, in fact we have observed evolution
Shami: did u see dog becoming 1/2 cow?

When I first read it I was really stumped.  Not because I couldn’t answer the question, but because I didn’t think a chemist could be so ignorant about science.  So I asked him:

Cooley: what is evolution ?
Shami: some peoples do logicalize their desires or ego
Cooley: i asked you a question
Shami: ego- desires / tribal [or national]= enemies of faith
Cooley: please answer it.
Shami: (after a fair while): u heard of BIG BANG?
Cooley: so you’re saying “evolution has no evidence” but you dont even know what evolution is
Shami: Al-Anbiya Have not those who disbelieve known that the heavens and the earth were of one piece, then We parted them, and we made every living thing of water? Will they not then believe? (30)

If I were an emo I think I would’ve started crying.  Quoting an irrelevant verse from the Bible (like John 3:16) or the Qur’an in a scientific discussion is pretty much an educational dead-end.  So I realised that I was dealing with some massive case of ignorance here.  He switched to talking about the Big Bang and how the universe is so beautifully arranged.

Shami: galaxes / star systems / planets / moons, 1 earth, no more
Cooley: earth is a planet, just like any other planet, which happens to be at the right place
Shami: random 2 u, the 23 degrees is random, the light weight of ice [opposite to all] r random
Cooley: you don’t get it do you
Shami: me?
Cooley: there are 70 sextillion stars in the universe, of course one of the planets is going to be at 23 degrees
Shami: all PERFECT conditions on ONLY 1 planet= random
Cooley: yes.

And then I continued to tell him how many zeroes there are in a septillion, but it was clear that he didn’t know a thing about probability, I started to doubt whether he were really a chemist.

Shami: have u heard of gasious state? “Then turned He to the heaven when it was smoke, and said unto it and unto the earth: Come both of you, willingly or loth. They said: We come, obedient.” (11)
Cooley: dude… DUDE!
Shami: forming of stars/planets/moons
Cooley: *cries*

It turns out I was an emo after all.  Akay, so I didn’t want to talk to him anymore, but I was still having a bit of fun… Typical me.

Cooley: do you know what the scientific method is
Shami: I had to stop at master (I’m assuming he meant Masters’ Degree)
Cooley: you’re doing science, and you don’t even know what the scientific method is.

Cooley: i asked you what is evolution, you haven’t answered it yet
Shami: it is in the garnge bin
Cooley: Exactly my point
Shami: garbge

At this point I said bye and left.  Right now I’m contemplating whether to slashwrist or facepalm.   Suggestions?

