Homeschooling is evil.


A not-so-long while ago, I said somewhere that I was going to pick on homeschooling, and it so happens that I’m actually a man of my word!

I mean, seriously, I don’t know where to start.  This subject makes my stomach sore and my eyes all bubbly.  Seriously, homeschooling makes me feel schoolsick (as opposed to homesick, where you just want to go home).  I can’t believe there are some parents out there who would rather trade a child’s social life for some better test results.  I just can’t believe it.

Akay, to be fair, that’s not actually the only main reason why parents homeschool their children.  Here are the stats from 1999, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).

Reason for homeschooling Percent
Can give child better education at home 48.9
Religious reason 38.4
Poor learning environment at school 25.6
Family reasons 16.8

… What the [expletive]!?  Religion?  38.4%?  ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

According to the U.S. DOE’s “Homeschooling in the United States: 2003”, 72 percent of homeschool parents cited “to provide religious or moral instruction” as an important reason…

Right…  What can I say?  Homeschooling sucks, in general.  Especially if you’re homeschooled under a Christian programme like me.  I’ve been more than one full year in homeschool now.  Religion is a STUPID reason to deny children a proper education.  I want to hang round the tuck-shop.  I want to go to the labs.  I want to do chemical experiments.  I want to throw fart-bombs at people.  I can’t really do that at Church or at Sunday School, can I?  (I don’t go to Sunday School anymore because I’m too old now, thank god.)

Wait… wait, SUNDAY SCHOOL?!  Imagine if you’re already studying 5-6 days a week under a Christian homeschool programme, and then on Sunday, you still have to go to Sunday School to learn more Christian junk?  How stupid is that?  It should be like “Sunday Go-to-the-Natural-Museum-day” since you’re just so sick with all the Bible and Genesis crap they try to force down your throat.  Home-schooling under religious programmes should be like illegal.  What a disgustingly sad testament it is to education.

Oh, I have only one last thing to say to the Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) people.  Fack you.

