Quiz Show: Biblical Contradictions


How NOT to respond to this movie:

a) By assuming that I have not looked into these contradictions with any level of depth and accusing me of not having tried to understand any kind of “deeper meaning”. Wherever possible, I consulted christians’ explanations of what they like to refer to as “so-called contradictions” and errors. I’ve looked at the explanations. I’ve given them a good go. They’re just shit.

b) By saying that these aren’t errors at all, rather, that they are simply copyist’s errors. Uh- derr. A copyist’s error is an error. I don’t care what kind of error it is, just don’t make the claim that the bible is completely free of errors, except for the cases in which there are errors, which are only copyist’s errors only, which aren’t really errors. Knock it off. I’m talking about the actual words on the actual page of the bible. When they don’t add up, – that’s called a contradiction or an error.

c) If you agree with me that English translations of the bible contain errors, but you think that the original Hebrew and Greek manuscripts are pure and therefore true – DON’T tell me this and then go on to criticise me and other skeptics for pointing out that the English translations contain errors! You’ve just said that you agree with me, that there are errors on the pages of the bibles that your god saw fit to let get corrupted in the first place, just in time for the arrival on the planet of more people than ever before – who all apparently need to be saved by coming to trust the bible and heeding the message contained within it!

– NonStampCollector

