A scientist’s response to a creationist.


Abridged, from a conversation with a creationist; posted without permission (but I don’t think he would mind).

***

sabepashubbo:

I think you jumped over the point of the blog. I’m not disproving evolution; what I’m saying is that science has shown that the evolutionary concept of the chicken egg is a faulty one, and that what science has found supports the Biblical account. This doesn’t disprove evolution, but it does produce a chink in the armor, so to speak. So since scientific evidence has shown this, wouldn’t that mean that a Biblical view ought to be the “established scientific thinking”, and if this study is verified would make intelligent design the “accepted scientific thought”? I would suspect you disagree, but to do so you would probably have to refute your own statement here. As to the “evolution” of my personal opinion of my Creator, I would hope that you would not make suggestions about my relationship with God, as you know neither me nor apparently my God. I would definitely say my opinion of Him is growing more and more fondly all the time, because He is revealing not only evidence of Himself to me, but also characteristics and qualities that I desperately long for. I would say that’s where you are wrong about God, because He didn’t just “pop into existence”; He IS existence, and everything flows from Him.

Tim:

“The scientists found that a protein found only in a chicken’s ovaries is necessary for the formation of the egg.”

Therefore,

“what I’m saying is that science has shown that the evolutionary concept of the chicken egg is a faulty one, and that what science has found supports the Biblical account.”

Wow, are you serious?

sabepashubbo:

Yes I am. What part of the post didn’t you understand?

Ian:

ok we need to clear a few things up on this total mess. You are correct in your assumption that the egg had to come first, however if we are talking the first calciferous egg you need to look back to the carboniferous era some 359 million years ago, whereby the first known species of  egg laying creature known as Archaeothyris layed the first calciferous egg with a hard shell. As for the chicken it could not have come before the egg becuase the egg evolved as mentioned previously 359 million years ago and the first chicken evovled around 30 million years ago from the jungle fowl. Ergo if the chicken had evolved before the calciferous egg then the argument would stand. However, as we have good solid evidence mainly in the form of genetic manipulation of chicken embryos that birds decended from dinosaurs. the argument is false.

Also never ever use the daily mail s a reference. its not called the “daily fail” over here for nothing!

***

Good to have a few scientists up your sleeve! haha.

