Reflections on Ground Zero Mosque


I have recently watched a very old video by Pat Condell regarding the mosque near Ground Zero, and he seems implacably opposed to it.  But, I can’t say that I agree with his reasoning.  Personally, I am in favour of, if not the mosque itself, then at least of secular laws protecting religious freedom, and I strongly feel that the sensitivity of Ground Zero is no excuse for these laws to be waived. Surely their decision to build there may seem utterly crude and impassively inappropriate, but the fact remains that by constitution they have every right to build there.  The only thing they might appear to be lacking is some common decency, but that is a different issue altogether.  Green light for the mosque at Ground Zero, or red light to secular America.  Feel free to disagree with me and convince me otherwise!

