Harry Potter DH2 Review



It all ends? Thank God it’s over.

Every once in a while there comes along a film that everyone expects so highly of, but then it fails to live up even to the lowest of expectations.  I am sad to confirm that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 has been one of those films.

I went to see DH2 with my family a few days ago. We had no intention of seeing this film, but we were very fortunate to receive free tickets to its first-weekend screening, so we decided to go.  First of all, I have to confess that I have never been an avid Harry Potter fan.  For this very reason, though, you may rest assured that my review of this movie will be far less biased than many others across the Interwebs.

The first thing that really struck my mind about DH2 was the amount of witchcraft and wizardry that was actually included in this film. I was surprised at how the producers constantly attempted to propagate these ideas throughout the movie, and they made no effort to conceal their ambitions at all.

So yes, I think they really overdid it this time round with all the magic and sorcery and stuff. It betrays what the seven other films have all been trying to represent, and it just goes to show how the author, JK Rowling, has finally and completely run out of ideas, that, in order to churn out this final chapter to her epic series of books, she has to sacrifice the realism of the original story for a whole deluge of unrealistic witchcraft fantasy, none of which actually adds to the storyline at all.

In fact, I had to take my kids out halfway through the movie, because it turned out the main character was a warlock. Unbelievable.

My rating: 1/5 stars. Verdict: Do NOT waste your tithe money on this film.

