Re: “MAKE ME A BELIEVER”


This is a response to an article by The Dead Again Agnostic entitled “MAKE ME A BELIEVER”. Do follow the link to read the article in full, as it is rather impractical to quote it here verbatim.

I grew up in Christianity and I want it to be true.

First of all I don’t see why anyone should wish for Christianity to be true.  A god who punishes people on the basis of whether or not he/she believes in him is not worth worshipping, to say the very least.

I want Christianity to be true because I don’t want to have built my entire life on a lie.

This is a good point, and I can sincerely relate to the sense of loss one feels when he or she is disconnected with “God”.  It is as if the foundations upon which all things are built have been removed as to leave you floating senselessly in the air, pondering the very questions of your own existence — but at least now you are free.

So I “came out”. To myself at first, and gradually to others. From born-again believer to dead-again agnostic.

How I congratulate you!

But I’m not in rebellion. Not intentionally anyway. Heck, I’m still a 32 year-old virgin and I’d still like to marry someone who believes in that marriage is sacred and sex within marriage is the ideal (more on that later). I still want the Christian family with five kids in the mini-van, singing Veggie Tales tunes on the way to the Sunday School picnic. Please believe me when I say that I want to believe!

This is where I believe a critical response is due.  Knowing as you do know, you should have every reason to be in rebellion with Christianity.  It goes without saying that you should wish to raise your children to become critical thinkers, not to bind them into an endless loop of dogma from which you yourself have scarcely emerged.

I gather from your other article that you label yourself as neither theist or atheist:

I am an agnostic. I don’t worship Satan and I’m not an atheist. There may be a God, or there may not be one. I don’t see evidence of a loving omnipotent deity, but I won’t rule out the possibility. “Agnostic” comes from two greek words: ‘A’ as in “Not” and ‘Gnostis’ as in “Knowledge”. My faith creed is simply this: “I don’t know”.

I know I must have explained this countless times, but here it is again.  Agnosticism is a position on the nature of knowledge.  Atheism and theism, are on the other hand, epistemological statements.  “There may be a God”, sure, and I say that as an atheist.  I rule out no possibilities, but at the same time I accept no claims which are baseless and unfounded upon evidence.

I rather think that you are complicating things for yourself by identifying yourself as an agnostic-full-stop.  Your want for a return to Christianity stems from the fact that you see yourself as sitting on a hypothetical fence, from which the leaps to either end are equidistant.  Undecided is a good term, but arguably, if you are undecided, then you do not yet believe in God, which would technically make you an atheist.  Semantics aside, my feeling is that you are also over-estimating the value of “Christian” ideals, as if they were in any way pleasant and desirable.

They are not.

