KONY 2012


First, let me say that I am astounded by the amount of publicity this campaign has received. But I am not astounded in a happy or pleasant way. Let it be known that I do not support KONY 2012. The so-called documentary video is propaganda in the truest sense of the word, and I am appalled to see that so many people have so readily hopped onto the bandwagon (ten million viewers within 48 hours to be exact). The video itself is poorly made, and consistently appeals to emotions rather than to facts and figures.  Invisible Children is a suspicious organisation and apparently only 32% of its expenses in 2011 actually went towards the children (not entirely sure, please do check up on this). The very idea of going after Kony (who isn’t even active or in Uganda) as if he were single-handedly responsible for all of this distorts the real issue, and is also highly reminiscent of what happened with the Osama manhunt, and have we not learnt anything from that at all? We don’t solve real world issues by scapegoating a single man to death. The LRA will simply find a new leader, so long as the idea is there. And let me remind you that approximately 15000-20000 children starve to death everyday, but we happily let this slide as a fact simply to be acknowledged and accepted. That’s because it is easier to thumbs up and share a video on Facebook than it is for us to actually get together as a species and to admit that we are all, as part of humanity, guilty of these charges, and to come up with some real solutions to our problems.  Plus, there are other political questions involving foreign policies as well, and the fact that Uganda has oil has only made me that much more sceptical. I don’t know. I just don’t feel that this is right. I fear such efforts cannot and will not end well. Let me know what you think.

